When a selection is opened, it is locked for other users. A locked selection can only be edited by the active user. After 60 minutes the selection is unlocked. When no changes are made by the active user for 60 minutes the selection is unlocked.
In the Ternair Marketing Cloud settings selection locking can be switched on/off.
- A selection that is in use by the active user can be recognized by a green open lock symbol in the top left corner of the selection.
- A selection that is not in use can be recognized by a blue lock symbol in the top left corner of the selection.
- A selection that is locked by another user can be recognized by a red lock symbol in the top left corner of the selection.
When a selection is locked by the active user (green lock), the selection can be unlocked for other users by clicking the green lock. The selection is now unlocked and can be opened for editing by other users (blue lock).
By unlocking a (blue lock) selection, after editing, the selection can be edited by another user immediately, without having to take over the selection.
Taking over a selection
A selection that is locked by another user can be opened by clicking the red lock. A notification is shown indicating by whom and until when the selection is locked.
By clicking the ‘Cancel’ button the selection remains locked and cannot be edited. By clicking ‘Take lock’ the selection is taken over from the other user and can now be edited.
N.B. the first user will not immediately receive a notification when his/her selection is taken over by another user.
Taken over selection
When a selection is taken over by another user, the user from whom the selection is taken over is notified when saving changes. This notification indicates who took over the selection. By clicking the ‘Reload selection’ button the selection will be reloaded in read-only mode and any unsaved changes are lost.
In order to prevent losing changes made in, for example, an e-mail block the content can be copied to an external application in order to add these changes later on
In the flowchart a notification is shown when any unsaved changes cannot be saved because the selection is taken over by another user.